You are here

Win Six English Towns and Six More English Towns

Six English Towns and Six More English Towns DVDs

Acclaimed architectural historian Alec Clifton-Taylor OBE presents a charming and informative foray into the history and architectural study of six small English towns of great character in Six English Towns and its sequel Six More English Towns. First broadcast on BBC Two in 1978, these documentary series are all released on DVD for the first time in the UK thanks to Simply Media.

Six English Towns, available on DVD now, follows Clifton-Taylor to Chichester (West Sussex), Richmond (Yorkshire), Tewkesbury (Gloucestershire), Stamford (Lincolnshire), Totnes (Devon) and Ludlow (Shropshire). Venturing out in all weathers to marvel at treasures of conservation, while pausing to criticise past errors of restoration and development, the programme serves as a fascinating historical snapshot of the enduring character of each locale. The presenter and the show proved so popular two more series were commissioned.

In the second series, Six More English Towns, first broadcast on BBC Two in 1981 and available on DVD 7 November 2016, he takes in Warwick, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Saffron Walden, Lewes, Bradford on Avon and Beverley.

Discover the history behind the towns that make England great in this enlightening TV series.

Competition closing date

Sunday, 27 November 2016 - 11:59pm

Competition prize

To win 1 of 3 Bundles of Six English Towns and Six More English Towns DVDs; simply answer the question below:-


Tom Baines, Diane Savin and Hayley Atkins

This competition is now closed. Congratulations to all our winners!

More competitions